Baylor Law School Grads to Receive Degrees July 28

July 24, 2001

by Alan Hunt

Forty graduates of Baylor University School of Law are scheduled to receive juris doctor degrees during commencement ceremonies at 10 a.m. Saturday, July 28, in Jones Concert Hall in the Glennis McCrary Music Building.

The keynote speaker, who was selected by the graduating class to deliver the commencement address, will be Bill Jones, general counsel to Texas Gov. Rick Perry.

A native of Caldwell, Texas, and the Teals Prairie Community, Jones is a 1985 graduate of Baylor Law School. He received his undergraduate degree in business management in 1981 from Texas A&M University. From 1996-97, Jones served as president of the 20,000-member Texas Young Lawyers Association and was honored by Baylor Law School in 1997 as the Baylor Young Lawyer of the Year.

Diplomas will be presented during the program by Law Dean Brad Toben, the Gov. Bill and Vara Faye Daniel Professor of Law, assisted by Leah W. Jackson, professor of law and associate dean. The honor of hooding the graduates will go to David M. Guinn, who serves as the Louise L. Morrison Professor of Constitutional Law and Master Teacher, and William D. Underwood, the Leon Jaworski Professor of Practice and Procedure and director of the law school's Practice Court program. The invocation will be given by Gerald R. Powell, who serves as the Abner V. McCall Professor of Evidence.

After the ceremony, a reception for the graduates and their guests will be hosted by the Baylor Law Alumni Association on the lawn of the McCrary Music Building.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?