Class Of 2001 To Be Honored At Truett Baccalaureate May 11

May 4, 2001

by Lori Scott Fogleman

Baylor University's George W. Truett Theological Seminary will honor the Class of 2001 -- the seminary's fifth graduating class -- during a baccalaureate service at 6 p.m. Friday, May 11, at First Baptist Church of Waco.

Twenty-five candidates scheduled to receive their master of divinity degrees in 2001 will be recognized and introduced during the service by Baylor President Robert B. Sloan Jr., Truett's founding dean, and Dr. David E. Garland, associate dean for academic affairs and professor of Christian scriptures. Dr. Paul Powell, dean of Truett Seminary, will welcome graduates and their families and provide the ceremony's closing remarks.

The Rev. Dan Yeary, senior pastor of one of the largest Baptist churches in the nation, North Phoenix Baptist Church in Phoenix, Ariz., will deliver the baccalaureate address "What Do It Open?" The prayer of dedication will be given by Dr. Royce Rose, theological education coordinator for the Baptist General Convention of Texas.

Dr. Terry W. York, associate professor of Christian ministry and director of the doctor of ministry program, and Dr. Ruth Ann Foster, assistant professor of Christian scriptures, have the honor of conveying the master's hoods upon the graduation candidates. Dr. Russell H. Dilday, distinguished professor of homiletics at Truett from 1994-2000, will serve as bearer of the mace. Graduates also will hear special greetings from the Rev. Michael Reynolds, president of George W. Truett Theological Seminary Alumni Association.

Special music will be provided by Dr. Joyce Jones, The Joyce Oliver Bowden Professor of Music and Baylor's Organist-in-Residence, and the sanctuary choir from Columbus Avenue Baptist Church, under the direction of Chuck Bridwell, minister of music.

Truett's May 2001 candidates for graduation include Geoffrey Nicholas Bailey, Warminster, Pa.; Matthew Dee Baker, Kerrville; Mary Ellen Holden Di Giosia, Jackson, Miss.;

Tiffani Renée Cox Harris, Dallas; Christopher Patrick Jones, Jackson, Miss.; Steven Douglas Kawiecki, Fayetteville, Tenn.; Ann Elizabeth Livingston, Dallas; Karen Ann Pennings, Richardson; Camron Paul Scott, San Angelo; Nikki Robin Simpson, Waco; Patricia Dean Wilgis-Patton, Bel Air, Md.; and Britt Willis Young, Tallahassee, Fla.

Four students will receive their M.Div. degrees in August, including Bradley Wayne Brannon, Mobile, Ala; Ethan D. Bryan, Springfield, Mo.; Laura Ann Cadena, Dallas; and

Hyae-Eun Grace Cha, Daejon, South Korea.

Scheduled to graduate in December are Daniel Mark Brackett, El Paso; Pamela Renee Caldwell, Stephenville; Carmen Marie Brassfield Conaway, Tulsa, Okla.; Erin Blake Conaway, Midland; Timothy G.A. Cooper, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada; Robert Barton Dalton, Nashville, Tenn.; Jeremy King Everett, Falls Church, Va.; Rebekah Leah Falk, Winter Haven, Fla.; and Scott David Matthews, Temple.

The graduating class also will be announcing the recipients of the first-ever "Professor of Choice" award.

For more information on Truett's baccalaureate service, contact René Maciel, assistant dean for administration and academic services, at (254) 710-3755.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?