Retired Faculty, Administrators Honored For Service To Baylor

May 8, 2005

The Baylor Alumni Association honored four retired faculty members and two retired administrators during a May 7 luncheon co-sponsored by the Baylor Retired Professors/Administrators Program.

The awards are presented annually in recognition of scholarship, devotion and service to the university. Baylor President Robert B. Sloan Jr. presented the awards.

Recipients of the 2005 Retired Faculty Awards were: Dr. Bruce Cresson, emeritus professor of religion and director of both the Institute of Archaeology and the Institute of Biblical and Related Languages; Dr. Phyllis Karns, former dean and professor emeritus of Louise Herrington School of Nursing; Dr. Howard Rolf, professor emeritus and former chair of mathematics; and Dutch Schroeder, associate professor emeritus of health, human performance and recreation and former director of the B Association.

Retired Administrator awards were presented to Marvin Goebel, director emeritus of the Baylor Press, and Jack Thornton, director emeritus of Wiethorn Visitors Center and Data Processing and Computing.

For more information, contact the Baylor Alumni Association at (254) 710-1121 or visit the association's website at

Looking for more news from Baylor University?