Prominent Alums To Receive Commencement Awards

May 11, 2005
News Photo 2886Max R. Sherman

by Judy Prather

Two distinguished Baylor University alumni - one a seminary dean, and the other a leading Texas statesman - will receive annual awards during spring commencement ceremonies on Saturday, May 14, at the Ferrell Center.

The Baylor Alumni Association will present the George W. Truett Distinguished Church Service Award during the 9:30 a.m. ceremony, followed by the Price Daniel Distinguished Public Service Award during the afternoon ceremony at 2:30 p.m.

Paul W. Powell, dean of Baylor's George W. Truett Theological Seminary, will receive the Truett award, presented annually to an individual closely associated with Baylor whose record exemplifies the life and career of George W. Truett, the renowned Baptist minister and seminary namesake.

A 1956 Baylor graduate, Powell earned the master of divinity degree from Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary before serving as pastor of several Baptist churches in Texas, including 17 years at Green Acres Baptist Church in Tyler. From 1990-98, he was president and chief executive officer of the Annuity Board of the Southern Baptist Convention. The author of 41 books, Powell has served as president of the Baptist General Convention of Texas and currently serves as president of the board of advisers for Texas Baptist Leadership Center.

Powell has been presented five honorary doctorates, the Distinguished Alumni Award from both Baylor and Southwestern, and the Herbert H. Reynolds Award for Exemplary Service to Baylor in 1999. Powell and his wife, Cathy Vaught Powell '56, have three children and three grandchildren.

The Price Daniel award is presented annually to a person whose record in public office exemplifies the spirit of selfless dedication to public service represented by the life and career of the late Gov. Price Daniel. This year's recipient is Dr. Max R. Sherman, professor emeritus of the Lyndon Baines Johnson School of Public Affairs at the University of Texas at Austin.

After graduating from Baylor in 1957, Sherman earned his law degree from the University of Texas and later served as special counsel to the Governor of Texas. From 1971-77, he served as a Texas senator, and Texas Monthly named him one of the 10 best legislators three times. Sherman served as president of West Texas State University from 1977-82 before becoming dean of the LBJ School of Public Affairs from 1983-97. He currently teaches ethics at Texas as the holder of The Max Sherman Chair of State and Local Government.

Among Sherman's previous honors are Baylor's Distinguished Alumni Award, Texan of the Year, Austinite of the Year and Public Administration Educator of the Year. He is married to Gene Alice Wienbroer Sherman '59, and they have two children and six grandchildren.

For more information, contact the Baylor Alumni Association at (254) 710-1121 or visit

Looking for more news from Baylor University?