New Student Government Officers Elected

May 1, 2001

The student body at Baylor University recently elected a new student body president, as well as external and internal vice presidents.

Matthew Flanigan, a Mount Vernon, Ill., junior, was elected the new student body president with 65 percent of the vote. He has served as the internal vice president and a Student Congress leader. He also served as sophomore class president and was a freshman Student Congress member. Flannigan is a member of Phi Kappa Chi fraternity.

Jennifer Terrell, a Blue Springs, Mo., junior, was elected external vice president, while Ryan Vauk, a Grapevine sophomore, was elected as internal vice president.

Terrell has served as a Student Congress representative for two years. Her main priorities will be to work on current student issues, including guest passes for the McLane Student Life Center, and with the administration to add additional staff in the Health Center.

As internal vice president, Vauk will seek to sponsor more on-campus events. He also desires to create new university traditions and other student incentives for athletic events and on-campus student life activities.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?