Baylor Announces First Abner V. McCall Awards

March 17, 1998

The Baylor University Alumni Association presented Dr. James Dunn and Roberta Keys Torn the first Abner V. McCall awards Friday on the fifth floor of the Cashion Building.

The Alumni Association honored Dunn and Torn for supporting religious liberty and humanitarianism respectively. Dunn serves as executive director of the Baptist Joint Committee on Public Affairs in Washington, D.C. The committee promotes religious liberty and separation of church and state issues for nine Baptist conventions and conferences in the United States. Books Dunn has co¡authored include Politics: A Guidebook for Christians, An Approach to Christian Ethics and The Fundamentalist Phenomenon.

Torn is the oldest of the Keys quadruplets who graduated from Baylor in 1937. Torn started M.D. Anderson Hospital volunteer groups called Adopt¡A¡Friend and Friends¡N¡Deed. She also started Sojourn House, which provides low¡cost housing to hundreds of M.D. Anderson outpatients.

Torn has visited hospital patients an average of three days a week for more than 24 years. In 1990, the city of Houston gave her the Mayor's Award in recognition of her volunteerism.

The awards honor the memory of Abner V. McCall, the 10th president of Baylor, who championed the causes of religious liberty and humanitarianism.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?