Baylor University To Hold Spring Commencement May 13

May 4, 2000

by Lori Scott Fogleman

Baylor University will confer degrees on approximately 1,400 graduates during spring commencement exercises Saturday, May 13, in the Ferrell Center.

The first ceremony will be at 9:30 a.m. for students in the College of Arts and Sciences and the Graduate School arts and sciences programs. The second ceremony begins at

3 p.m. for graduates of the Schools of Business, Education, Engineering and Computer Science, Music, Nursing, the Graduate School professional school programs and George W. Truett Theological Seminary.

Baylor President Robert B. Sloan Jr. will give the traditional charge to the students at both ceremonies, with greetings brought by W. Fred Cameron, chairman of the Baylor Board of Regents. Dr. John W. Shepard, retired lecturer in Asian studies, will be the bearer of the mace in the morning ceremony. Dean Daniel Sternberg, professor emeritus of music, has the honor at the afternoon ceremony.

During the morning ceremony, the Baylor Alumni Association will present the George W. Truett Distinguished Church Service Award to 1949 Baylor graduate and longtime San Antonio pastor Buckner Fanning. At the 3 p.m. ceremony, Judge Charles W. Barrow (LLB 1943) of San Antonio, former dean of the Baylor School of Law and Texas Supreme Court justice, will be presented with the alumni association's Price Daniel Distinguished Public Service Award.

Another award, to be presented for the first time during the 9:30 a.m. ceremony, is the W. Winfred Moore Award for Lifetime Achievement in Ministry. Sponsored by the Office of Church Relations, the award honors those have been in vocational ministry for at least 30 years and are currently serving in a church or denominational ministry. Moore, the director of Baylor's Center for Ministry Effectiveness, regent emeritus, a visiting distinguished professor in the department of religion and former pastor of the First Baptist Church of Amarillo, will be the first to be presented with the award that bears his name. Also to be honored with the ministry award will be the Rev. E. Dwaine Greene, a 1957 Baylor graduate and pastor of Birdville Baptist

Church in Fort Worth, and the Rev. Wilbert H. Long, former pastor of San Antonio's Northeast Baptist Church and currently coordinator of church extension and mission service corps for the San Antonio Baptist Association.

Also recognized during commencement will be Baylor faculty who have been selected for Outstanding Professor and Teaching Awards. Named outstanding faculty are Dr. Donald L. Gaitros, School of Engineering and Computer Science, Tenured Professor Award; Dr. Pauline Johnson, School of Nursing, Tenured Professor Award; Dr. Andy Moore, College of Arts and Sciences (English), Tenured Professor Award; Larry T. Bates, School of Law, Non-Tenured (tenure-track) Teaching Award; Emily Ketcham, Hankamer School of Business, Non-Tenured (contract or lecturer) Teaching Award; Thomas M. Featherston Jr., School of Law, Scholarship Award; Jacque Neatherlin, School of Nursing, Scholarship Award; William H. Bellinger Jr., College of Arts and Sciences (religion), Scholarship Award; and Dr. Russell Dilday, George W. Truett Theological Seminary, Significant Contributions Award. Dr. Christopher Kearney, assistant professor of biology and the recipient of the 2000 Collins Outstanding Professor Award, also will be honored during commencement.

Additionally, special recognition will be given to retiring Baylor faculty: Dr. Bill T. Adams, physics; Dr. Ray Burchette, executive vice president of the Baylor Alumni Association; Dr. Richard Chewning, management; Margaret Davis, English; Dilday, Truett Seminary; Dr. Gardner Gateley, communication sciences and disorders; William Harlan, University development; Roger Keyes, music; Gail Legate, lecturer in physics; Louis Muldrow, Law School; Dr. Herbert H. Reynolds, chancellor; Dr. Hugh Sanders, music; and Dr. James Vardaman, history.

For more information, contact Lois Ferguson, assistant provost for academic services, at (254) 710-3663.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?