Baylor President Elected Chair Of Big XII Board Of Directors

May 26, 2000

by Larry D. Brumley

Baylor President Robert B. Sloan Jr. was elected chairman of the Big XII Conference Board of Directors at the group's sixth annual spring meeting today at The Broadmoor in Colorado Springs, Colo.

Others elected to positions on the board are University of Texas President Larry Faulkner as vice chairman, University of Colorado Chancellor Richard Byyny as secretary, and Oklahoma State University President James Halligan as treasurer.

Outgoing chairman of the board is University of Kansas Chancellor Robert Hemenway.

The elections are valid for the 2000-2001 academic term.

Baylor, Colorado, Iowa State, Kansas, Kansas State, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Texas, Texas A&M and Texas Tech combined forces on Feb. 25, 1994 to form the Big XII Conference. Institution chancellors and presidents serve as the chief policy makers of the conference, operating as the board of directors.

Dr. Sloan, who joined Baylor's religion faculty in 1983, became the University's 12th president in 1995. He became the first holder of The George W. Truett Chair in Evangelism in 1990, and he was appointed the founding dean of George W. Truett Theological Seminary in 1993. His community service includes the Waco Big XII Task Force, the Tadpole Foundation Board of Directors, the Boys and Girls Club of Waco Board of Directors, the Cooper Foundation Board, the advisory board of Compass Bank in Waco, and the board of trustees for the Baylor College of Medicine. Dr. Sloan was inducted into the Little League Hall of Excellence in 1996.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?