Baylor Honors Retired Professors And Administrators

Sept. 25, 2000

Baylor University will hold a fall luncheon honoring the retired professors and administrators Tuesday, Sept. 26, on the fifth floor of the Cashion Building.

New retiree, Dr. Sandra J. Genrich, will be inducted into the program this fallafter 19 years as professor of nursing.

Inducted this year as associate members are Dr. Ray Burchette, Dr. Russell Dilday and Dr. Dianne Endres. Burchette has retired from his position as the executive vice president of the Baylor Alumni Association; Dilday retired from his position as distinguished professor of homiletics in George W. Truett Theological Seminary; and Endres recently retired from her position as assistant professor of nursing.

Honorary retirees include Dorothy Humphrey Diddie and Roger Edens. An honorary retiree is given this title due to their staunch support of the university over the years.

Earl Newland, Baylor's director of purchasing from 1957-93, will be honored as a Retiree of the Year. The late Dr. Mary Nowotny, professor emeritus and associate dean of Baylor Nursing School from 1981-97, will be honored posthumously as a Retiree of the Year. Those who fall into this Retiree of the Year category are recognized for their services and achievements since retiring. Nowotny retired in 1996 when Lou Gehrig's disease prohibited her from continuing her duties in the classroom.

Nowotny won numerous awards, including the Herbert H. Reynolds Award for Outstanding Service to Students in 1997. She is survived by her husband and two daughters, as well as six grandchildren.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?