Dean's Inaugural Concert Series Concludes With A Cappella Choir

Oct. 25, 2000

by Richard Veit

The third and final event in the Dean's Inaugural Concert Series will be presented at 8 p.m. Friday, Oct. 27, in Jones Concert Hall on the Baylor University campus. Donald Bailey, The Mary Gibbs Jones Professor of Music and director of choral activities, will conduct the Baylor A Cappella Choir, and the accompanists will be pianist/organist David Anderson, organist Jason Farris and pianist Jacob Miller.

This sacred music program will open with Vaclav Nelhybel's "Estampie Natalis" and another Christmas piece, Tomás Luis de Victoria's "O Magnum Mysterium." Then the choir will sing Antonio Lotti's "Crucifixus" and Johann Sebastian Bach's "Lobet den Herrn, alle Heiden."

The 65-member A Cappella Choir next will offer a set of English anthems--"O, Pray for the peace of Jerusalem" by Herbert Howells, the Hal Hopson arrangement of "Lead On, Eternal Sovereign" by Gustav Holst, "Rhosymedre" by Ralph Vaughan Williams and "I was glad when they said unto me" by Hubert Parry.

Following intermission, the choir will present Paul Tchesnokov's "Thou Life of Life," Vassily Kalinnikov's "O Lamb of God," Gerald Kemner's "Now Shout" and Mack Wilberg's arrangement of three American folk hymns--"Saints Bound for Heaven," "Death Shall Not Destroy My Comfort" and "We'll Shout and Give Him Glory."

Concluding the program will be Moses Hogan's arrangement of "My Soul's Been Anchored in the Lord," the John Work setting of "This Little Light of Mine" and Paul Christiansen's arrangement of "This Is My Father's World."

The A Cappella Choir concert is free of charge, but tickets are required for admission. For ticket information, call the Baylor School of Music at 710-3991.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?