Model Organization Of American States Team Brings Home Six Awards

Nov. 13, 2000

by Lori Scott Fogleman

Baylor University's Model Organization of American States team captured six awards at the recent Model Organization of American States Conference, held Nov. 9-12 at St. Mary's University in San Antonio. The competition was sponsored by the World Affairs Council of San Antonio and Southwestern Bell Communications. The 16-member Baylor contingent represented the Republic of Chile and the Republic of El Salvador.

"The Baylor teams dominated the meet," said Dr. Joan Supplee, associate professor of history and director of the Latin American Studies who, along with Dr. Janet Adamski, serves as team coach. "We are earning the reputation of the team to beat. Additionally, more than half of the resolutions that were approved at the conference were written by Baylor team members."

Teams from 21 colleges and universities in Texas and Mexico represented countries that are members of the Organization of American States. Students acted as diplomats from various countries in North and South America and debated topics such as human rights, drug trafficking, international trade, democracy and the environment. During the conference, participating students also heard addresses by Oliver Garza, U.S. Ambassador to Nicaragua, and Jeffrey Davidow, U.S. Ambassador to Mexico.

The Baylor team representing El Salvador received an honorable mention for best delegation. Five students also received individual awards. Receiving best delegate awards were Peter Ghobrial, a senior from Baytown, for the Unit for Sustainable Development and the Environment; Wesley Johnson, a sophomore from Fort Worth, for the Inter-American Drug Abuse Control Commission; and Meredyth Childress, a sophomore from Waxahachie, for her work on the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights.

Receiving honorable mentions as most effective delegates were John Paul Hayworth, a senior from Olathe, Kan., for the Committee for Hemispheric Security and Brandon Scott Dugan, a senior from Mesquite, for most effective chair.

Natalie Tapken, a senior from Austin, served as head delegate for the Chile team, and Ana Gutiérrez, a junior from San Antonio, served as head delegate for the El Salvador team. Other team members included Ian Kirkland, a senior from Santa Ana, Calif.; Travis Kelly, a freshman from Waxahachie; Justin Bass, a junior from Detroit, Texas; Kathryn Koch, a junior from Garland; Perla Gámez, a junior from Laredo; Zelina Cruz, a sophomore from Raymondville; Amanda Marvin, a senior from Overland Park, Kan.; and Tammy Grisales, a senior from Colleyville.

For more information, contact Supplee at 710-6294.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?