Practice Court Prof To Be Honored At Baylor Law Day

April 6, 2000

by Alan Hunt

Professor Louis Muldrow, who has directed Baylor University Law School's acclaimed Practice Court program for nearly two decades, will be honored Saturday, April 8, as Baylor's Lawyer of the Year for 2000.

Muldrow, the holder of the Leon Jaworski Chair of Practice and Procedure, will retire at the end of the spring 2000 quarter. He has directed the Practice Court program since 1983. Named as his replacement is Professor William D. Underwood, a 10-year member of the law faculty and former General Counsel for Baylor.

Graduating from Baylor Law School in 1958, Muldrow practiced civil trial law for 23 years in Waco before joining the law faculty in 1981. Previously, he had served 13 years as an adjunct professor at Baylor Law School.

Muldrow will be honored at the Law School's annual Law Day banquet at 7 p.m. in the Ferrell Center. He will receive the award from Judge James M. Farris of Beaumont, president of the Baylor Law Alumni Association, and Brad Toben, law school dean. A reception for Muldrow will be held earlier at 5:30 p.m. on the concourse at the Ferrell Center.

Toben said, "This is the highest recognition given by the Baylor Law Alumni Association and the Law School. The Lawyer of the Year award is given annually to an outstanding alumnus who has brought honor and distinction to Baylor Law School and the legal profession."

Describing Muldrow as "a legend" in the community of Baylor lawyers, Toben said, "He has rendered outstanding service to Baylor Law School and to the legal profession over many years."

Also scheduled during the Law Day program at the Ferrell Center will be a class reunion for law alumni who graduated in years ending in 0, 4, 5, or 9, and a reception for scholarship donors and recipients. Both events will start at 5:30 p.m.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?