Governor's Entrepreneurship Symposium To Be Held At Baylor

April 5, 2000

by Alan Hunt

High schools from across the Lone Star State will be represented at the second annual Governor's Symposium on Economic Development Through Entrepreneurship to be held at Baylor University from 9 a.m. until 6 p.m. Friday, April 14.

Students will be attending from West Oso High School in Corpus Christi; Whitney High School, Whitney; Pine Tree High School, Longview; Channelview High School, Channelview; Burges High School, El Paso; Clifton High School, Clifton; School of Excellence, San Antonio; and Edcouch-Elsa High School in Edcouch.

About 100 students will compete for the title of Texas High School Entrepreneur of the Year during the program. The winner will receive a $1,000 cash award plus a $1,000 scholarship in entrepreneurship to Baylor's Hankamer School of Business.

Nineteen students will present their own business plans in competition for more than $2,500 in cash awards and scholarships. Others will compete for more than $500 in cash awards in a "future entrepreneurs" exhibition. These students have been studying entrepreneurship through Texas REAL Enterprises (Rural Entrepreneurship Through Action Learning). REAL Enterprises, a nonprofit organization in Durham, N.C., partners with select high schools and community colleges across the United States to provide youth and adults of all ages the opportunity to become entrepreneurs.

While at Baylor, the students will have lunch, take a tour of the Baylor campus, enjoy Dr Pepper floats, and take home souvenirs of their trip provided by M&M Mars, the Dr Pepper Museum, Baylor Alumni Association, First University Credit Union, Baylor Athletic Department, Texas Sports Hall of Fame, Baylor Public Relations Department, Doc & Laddy's Amusement Center, Texas Ranger Museum, McLane Student Life Center, Baylor Development Office, and the City of Waco.

Judges for the Symposium are Pamela Clark, business development specialist and certified business advisor at Angelo State University's Small Business Development Center in San Angelo; Allan Morris, president of Extraco Bank Greater Waco; and Dr. Jim Roberts, associate professor of marketing and holder of The Mrs. W.A. (Agnes) Mays Professorship in Entrepreneurship at


Symposium sponsors are Extraco Banks Greater Waco and the John F. Baugh Center for Entrepreneurship in the Hankamer School of Business. Award sponsors are Community Bank and Trust, and Dr. Patrick and Alicia Gibson of San Angelo.

For more information about the program call Mary Abrahams at (254) 710-4159.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?