Model U.N. Team's Dynasty Continues At Harvard Tournament

Feb. 22, 2000

Baylor University's Model United Nations team once again has won one of top three awards at the Harvard University Model U.N. tournament. This marks the fifth straight year the Baylor team has won a team award at the prestigious competition. Baylor shared the Honorable Distinguished Performance award with the U.S. Military Academy at West Point. Yale University was named Best Delegation.

"The tournament was very intense and very competitive this year," said Dr. Linda Adams, associate professor of political science and director of the Model U.N. team. "We had a very young team, in fact half of the team had never competed at the Harvard tournament before, but the kids were very prepared."

The Harvard tournament simulated the activities of the United Nations, with each university playing the role of a particular country. This year, Model U.N. teams represented 156 countries and 10 non-governmental organizations. The Baylor team represented France, which the team also represented in 1992 when it won its first Best Delegation award. Baylor has won a team award seven out of nine years.

Awards are based on skill in negotiating, speaking, resolution writing and knowledge of the nation's policies and of the committee's topic areas. The Outstanding Delegation Award is based on the cumulative number of individual awards received by team members. Four Baylor team members were awarded outstanding individual awards and six received an honorable mention.

Team members who received individual awards were Partha Niyogi, a graduate student from Fort Worth; Rob Schickler, a junior from Arlington, Va.; Kristen Stuckey, a sophomore from Richardson; and Adrian Olivares, a junior from Mission, Texas. Students who received honorable mention were Reagan Butts, a senior from Midland; Allison Harvey, a junior from Odessa; Jim Marshall, a senior from Kingwood; Jennifer Curry, a senior from Donna, Texas; Dharmpal Vansadia, a freshman from Port Arthur; and Skye Perryman, a freshman from Waco.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?