Seven Baylor Supporters Honored With W. R. White Award

Nov. 9, 1999

The Baylor University Alumni Association will honor seven recipients of the W. R. White Meritorious Service Award. Bernard Rapoport, George M. Stokes, Marie Brown, Robert O. Feather, Paige Eiland, and Dewey and Virginia Presley will receive their awards during the Alumni Association's annual meeting Nov. 12.

The award recognizes individuals who have rendered outstanding service in any area to Baylor. All seven recipients have expressed continued interest and loyalty toward Baylor.

Rapoport serves as chairman and chief executive officer of American Income Life Insurance Company. He was appointed by President Clinton as a member of the Advisory Committee for Trade Policy and Negotiations, and is a member of the Library of Congress Trust Fund Board. He also has served as chairman of the University of Texas System Board of Regents and is currently the chairman of the board for American Friends of Tel Aviv University.

Stokes, a former Baylor professor, received his master's degree from Baylor and taught in the speech-radio department from 1952 to 1983. He was the master of ceremonies for Pigskin Revue for 40 years before retiring in 1998. Stokes also was master of ceremonies for All University Sing and the public address announcer for Baylor men's basketball and football games.

Brown, a Dallas resident, is being recognized for her work in recruiting Baylor students and for her contributions with the Baylor Black Alumni Club.

Feather, also from Dallas, is Baylor vice president emeritus for external affairs and has demonstrated loyalty to Baylor on various councils since his graduation in 1950.

Former Baylor graduate Eiland is on the board of directors for the Baylor Bear Club and the Baylor Bear Foundation.

Presley, the 1967 outstanding alumnus of the Hankamer School of Business, and his wife, Virginia Sheppard Presley, of Dallas, are the final recipients of the 1999 W. R. White award in recognition of their devotion to the University. Presley, a member of the Baylor Board of Regents from 1988 to 1993, has served as the chairman of the board of Baylor University Medical Center, Dallas, and Baylor University. His wife is a former president of the Baylor University Medical Center Women's Auxiliary.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?