Baylor Honors Five With Herbert H. Reynolds Award

Nov. 9, 1999

The Herbert H. Reynolds Award for Exemplary Service will be presented during Baylor University's Homecoming pregame activities at 1 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 13, at Floyd Casey Stadium.

The award will be presented by Chancellor Reynolds, Dr. Leta Horan, member of the Herbert H. Reynolds award committee, and Dr. F. Ray Wilson, chair of the Herbert H. Reynolds award committee. Babs Baugh, Dr. Ray Burchette Jr., Dr. Maxine B. Hart, Dr. Paul W. Powell, and E.E. (Dutch) Schroeder will receive the award.

The award, named for Reynolds, the former president and current chancellor of Baylor, was established in 1981 in honor of those individuals who have given to the heritage and tradition of Baylor through dedication and service to the university.

Baugh attended Baylor from 1960-1963 and received a bachelor of music education degree from the University of Maryland. She is the president of Independent Traveler, specializing in group travel. Baugh has received the W. R. White Award, the James Huckins Award, and the Parent of the Year Award at Baylor. Baugh, who resides in San Antonio, is married to John Jarrett and has two daughters, both Baylor graduates.

Burchette is the executive vice president of the Baylor Alumni Association and a 1957 Baylor graduate. Burchette, who is also a past president of the Alumni Association, is responsible for the Baylor Alumni Association being the first university alumni association in America to establish an Internet web-site featuring easily obtainable information of special interest to former students. In September, Burchette announced his retirement, effective May 31, 2000.

Hart, a 1957 Baylor graduate, has been a professor of information systems at Baylor for 28 years. She is a member of many organizations, including the Office Systems Research Association and has received several honors, including being named Baylor Outstanding Professor in May 1988.

Powell, a Tyler resident, is a Baylor regent and a 1956 graduate. He is president of the Robert M. Rogers Foundation and was previously president and CEO of the Southern Baptist Convention's Annuity Board. Powell's honors include Baylor Distinguished Alumni, and Distinguished Alumnus of Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary. In addition, the chapel at the soon-to-be constructed George W. Truett Theological Seminary will be named the Paul Powell Chapel in his honor.

Schroeder has been an associate professor in the health, human performance and recreation department since 1958 and is a 1949 Baylor graduate. Prior to attending Baylor, Schroeder served in the Navy from 1942-46.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?