Opening Convocation Features Faculty Musicians Sept. 28

Sept. 23, 1999

by Richard Veit

The talents of more than a dozen faculty members of the Baylor University School of Music will be showcased in the 1999 Opening Convocation to be presented at 8 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 28, in Roxy Grove Hall.

The Baylor Brass Quintet--trumpeters Barry Hopper and Oscar García, hornist Margaret Robinson, trombonist Nathaniel Dickey, and tubist Michael Fischer--will perform selections from Georges Bizet's opera, Carmen.

Bassoonist Kenton Moore and pianist Jana Millar will play a sonata by the 18th-century German composer, Georg Philipp Telemann.

Mezzo-soprano Wanda Brister will perform selections by Ernest Chausson ("Le Colibri") and Maurice Ravel ("Kaddisch") and will be accompanied by pianist John Cozza.

French composer Guy Ropartz's "Pièce in E-flat minor" will be played by Dickey and Cozza.

Guitarists Richard Littlefield and Kenneth Puls will perform two pieces, "Le Rossignol" and "Drewrie's Accords," both written anonymously.

The finale movement from Charles-Marie Widor's Symphony No. 8 for organ will be performed by Joyce Jones, the Joyce Oliver Bowden Professor of Music and Organist-in-Residence.

Concluding the program will be the Baylor Woodwind Quintet--flutist Helen Ann Shanley, oboist Doris DeLoach, clarinetist Richard Shanley, hornist Margaret Robinson, and bassoonist Kenton Moore--who will play Alexander Zemlinsky's "Humoreske" and Anthony Plog's "Animal Ditties."

This convocation is free and open to the public. For more information, call the Baylor School of Music at 710-3991.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?