Baylor Honors Longtime Sportswriter With Communications Award

Aug. 25, 1999

by Lori Scott Fogleman

Baylor University President Robert B. Sloan Jr. today presented legendary sportswriter Dave Campbell with the 1999 Baylor Communications Award during the President's Media Luncheon at Floyd Casey Stadium.

The award was established four years ago to honor those individuals who have distinguished themselves in the field of communications and also in their communities.

"I'm very flattered," said Campbell, founder and editor-in-chief of Texas Football magazine, editor-in-chief of the Baylor Bear Insider, and retired sports editor of the Waco Tribune-Herald. "Certainly Baylor has gone out of its way to give me a variety of recognition, not all deserved, but each of them appreciated."

On July 21, Baylor announced that the third floor of the newly constructed press box at Floyd Casey Stadium would be named the Dave Campbell Media Center. Longtime Campbell friend and tennis partner, Bernard Rapoport, a Waco philanthropist, and his wife, Audre, donated $250,000 to the construction project.

Campbell is a Waco-area native who graduated cum laude from Baylor in 1950. He began his journalism career in 1942 at the age of 17 when he took a job as a copy boy for the Waco paper. He was soon drafted for service in World War II, serving with the 14th Armored Division in France and Germany, for which he was awarded the Bronze Star. In 1946, Campbell returned to the Waco News-Tribune and Times -Herald, working on the news desk and sports desk. He was named sports editor in 1953.

In 1960, Campbell founded Texas Football magazine and after 40 years, remains its editor-in-chief. After retiring from the Tribune-Herald in 1993, he was named editor-in chief of the Bear Foundation's Insider. He also is featured on a weekly radio show during football season on the Texas State Radio Network.


Campbell is a member of the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame and the Texas Sports Hall of Fame. He is past-president of the Football Writers Association of America and

serves as one of five sectional representatives on the Heisman Trophy Committee. He is a recipient of the Austin Headliners Wilbur Evans award, the Houston Touchdown Club Touchdowner award and the Football Writers Association of America McCrane Award for lifetime achievement. He was named a Baylor Distinguished Alumnus in 1992.Campbell and his wife of almost 50 years, Reba, also a Baylor alumna, have two daughters, Becky Roche of Austin and Julie Carlson of Waco, and two grandsons, Campbell and Jackson Roche of Austin.

Campbell joins past recipients of the Baylor Communications Award, including Toby Druin, editor emeritus of the Baptist Standard and a 1966 Baylor graduate; Hollis Biddle and Ann Roznovsky of the Waco Tribune-Herald; Rick Bradfield, news director of KWTX-TV in Waco and a 1976 Baylor graduate; Jack Loftis, associate publisher, executive vice president and editor of the Houston Chronicle and a 1957 Baylor graduate; and Troy Dungan, chief weather anchor at WFAA-TV in Dallas and a 1959 Baylor graduate.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?