Baylor Alumni Association Hosts Annual Heritage Club Meeting

March 18, 1999

The Baylor University Alumni Association will hosts its 23rd annual Heritage Club meeting Sunday through Tuesday, March 21-23, for alumni who graduated from Baylor at least 50 years ago. This year, the class of 1949 will be honored with golden diplomas.

The Heritage Club meets each spring for a three-day event. Registration will be held from 3-6 p.m. at the Hughes-Dillard Alumni Center. The evening will close with a piano concert featuring Baylor faculty and alumni at 7:30 p.m. in Roxy Grove Hall. Dr. Daniel Sternberg, former dean of the School of Music will serve as commentator. There is no charge for the concert.

A continental breakfast will be held from 8:30-9:30 a.m. at the Waco Convention Center. The morning meeting will feature speeches by Baylor Chancellor Herbert H. Reynolds, Sonja Hogg, head women's basketball coach, and Dr. James W. Vardaman, The Jo Murphy Chair in International Education and master teacher and professor of history. The evening will culminate with the president's dinner at 7 p.m. in the Brazos Room at the Waco Convention Center, hosted by Baylor President and Mrs. Robert B. Sloan Jr.

On Tuesday, a continental breakfast will be held from 8-9 a.m. in the Fellowship Hall of Columbus Avenue Baptist Church. Dr. Ben E. Dickerson, director of the Institute of Gerontology, Kevin Steele, head football coach, Calvin Smith, director of the Strecker Museum and Gannon Sims, student body president, will be the featured speakers. The three-day event will conclude with a noon luncheon at the Waco Convention Center.

For more information about the Heritage Club or the schedule of events, please contact Brenda Ramey at 710-1121.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?