Baylor Honors Five Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients

Jan. 20, 1999

WACO, Texas -- The Baylor University Alumni Association will honor Gerald W. Haddock, the Honorable Jack Fields, J. Harry Jeanes, his Excellency Lyndon L. Olson Jr., and Jim Turner during the Distinguished Alumni Banquet at 7 p.m. Friday, Jan. 29, at the Ferrell Special Events Center.

A native Texan, Haddock earned bachelor of business administration and doctor of laws degrees from Baylor. He is currently president and chief executive officer of both the $5.9 billion Crescent Real Estate Equities Company, one of the largest publicly held real estate investment trusts in the U.S., and Crescent Operating Inc., a publicly held operating company. Haddock has received praise for his achievements. Realty Stock Review gave him the 1997 Outstanding CEO of the Year Award.

Fields served as the Texas representative for the 8th Congressional District in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1981-97. Fields earned his bachelor and juris doctorate degrees from Baylor and for nine years served as a Baylor regent. While in office, Fields served as chairman of the House Telecommunications and Finance Subcommittee. Under his leadership, Congress enacted The Telecommunications Act of 1996, the first comprehensive reform of the Communications Act of 1934 in more than six decades, promoting greater competition in all telecommunications-related industries. Fields is currently the president and chief executive officer of Texana Global Inc. and 21st Century Group Inc.

Jeanes is a former chairman and chief executive officer of First Federal Savings and former director of Westview National Bank in Waco. Jeanes, who earned a bachelor of business administration degree from Baylor in 1934, also served 18 years as a Baylor regent and was elected regent emeritus in 1990. He was also a member of Baylor's Sesquicentennial Council of 150. In the Waco community, Jeanes has served as president of the Waco Rotary Club, Waco Junior Chamber of Commerce and has been involved with other numerous organizations. He was a recipient of Baylor's W.R. White Meritorious Service Award. Jeanes and his wife, Anna, were recipients of the 1997 Herbert H. Reynolds Award and the James Huckins Medal.

Turner is the owner and chairman of the board of Dr Pepper Bottling Company of Texas. He is a Houston native who earned a bachelor of business administration degree from Baylor. Considered a veteran and leader in the soft drink industry, Turner was named Beverage Industry Man of the Year in 1990. Turner is very active statewide in the communities served by the bottling company of Texas. He is corporate director of the Cotton Bowl Athletic Association, serves on the Board of the Southwestern Bell/SMU Athletic Forum and is involved with many other organizations. A loyal Baylor alumnus, Turner is a member of the advisory board for Baylor's Hankamer School of Business. He also was awarded the W.R. White Meritorious Service Award in 1995 and was inducted into the Baylor Sports Hall of Fame in 1996. In 1997, Turner and his company signed an exclusive 10-year soft drink sponsorship with Baylor.

Olson is the U.S. ambassador to the Kingdom of Sweden. Olson, a 1969 Baylor graduate, is the immediate past president and chief executive officer of Travelers Insurance Holders Inc. from which he resigned to accept his appointment as ambassador. As ambassador, Olson has represented the U.S. as a leader of the Trade Delegation of Financial Services to Russia and China and a member of the United Nations Conferences on Trade and Development in the Philippines and Geneva. He also has served as a negotiator on the services side of the U.S.-Israeli Free Trade Agreement.

For more information, contact the Baylor Alumni Association at (254) 710-1121.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?