Baylor Team Earns Two Awards at Model Organization of American States Competition

Nov. 13, 1998

A nine-member team of Baylor University students won the Most Creative Representation Award at the Second Annual Model Organization of American States Conference, held recently in San Antonio. The conference, which is sponsored by the World Affairs Council of San Antonio, the University of Texas at San Antonio and the Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico, featured 14 teams from colleges and universities in Texas and a team from National Autonomous University of Mexico.

The teams represented countries from the Organization of American States with team members serving as diplomats of the various representative countries. Tournament participants debated topics such as human rights, drug trafficking, international trade and the environment.

The Baylor team, which represented Argentina, earned the Most Creative Representation Award in recognition of its outstanding research and preparation for the competition. Additionally, team member Bethany Jenkins, a senior from Pensacola, Fla., earned an honorable mention award at the conference.

Other members of the Baylor delegation included Kristi Bonkowski, a senior from Hesperia, Calif.; Sam Henderson, a freshman from Corpus Christi; Milton Gutierrez, a junior from Cameron; David Ocamb, a freshman from Oklahoma City; Yami Moreno, a senior from Laredo; Trey Nixon, a senior from Charlotte, Texas; Fabio Subieta, a senior from Katy; Lin Wayner, a graduate student from New York City; and David Wolf, a freshman from Grand Rapids, Mich. Dr. Janet Adamski, assistant professor of political science, and Dr. Joan Supplee, associate professor of history and director the Latin American Studies program, coached the team.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?