Retired Faculty Recently Honored at Baylor

Nov. 6, 1998

Three Baylor University professors were recently honored by the Retired Professors and Administrators.

Dr. Daniel A. Sternberg, former dean of the School of Music, Dr. O. Herbert Colvin, emeritus professor of music theory, and Mary Ila Colvin, former lecturer in music, were honored as Retirees of the Year by Baylor President Robert B. Sloan Jr.

Sternberg was a part-time assistant professor from 1942 to 1943 and became dean in 1943. He established the Waco Symphony Orchestra, Baylor's Opera Department and church music department. He has won the Harold J. Abrams award of Dallas Symphony Orchestra for orchestral composition. He was also voted "Professor of the Year" by the Student Council of Baylor in 1960 and listed in Who's Who in America. He retired in 1981.

Dr. Colvin was professor of theory and piano. He was featured in "The American Music Teacher" magazine. He was assistant professor of piano from 1957 to 1962 and associate professor of theory and chairman of the theory department from 1967 to 1964. He retired in 1993.

Mary Colvin taught private studio voice lessons at Baylor. She is a member of the National Association of Teachers of Singing and Delta Kappa Gamma, which is a professional teacher's international association. She retired in 1989.

The awards recognize personal achievements and civic activities after retirement from Baylor. Also honored was Dr. W J Wimpee, who was the first chaplain in Baylor's history. He retired in 1989 and was appointed as the first director of the Retired Professors and Administrators Program.

Dr. Rufus B. Spain was welcomed as new director of the program. Spain, emeritus professor of history, joined the Baylor faculty in 1957 and retired in May 1998.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?