Kronos Quartet Returns to Perform Nov. 12

Nov. 6, 1998

by Richard Veit

The Kronos Quartet will perform at 8 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 12, in Jones Concert Hall as part of the Baylor University School of Music's Distinguished Artist Series.

This is the Silver Anniversary season for Kronos, which formed in 1973. More than 400 works have been written or arranged for the Kronos Quartet, which continues to collaborate with such leading composers as Steve Reich, Osvaldo Golijov, Terry Riley, Henryk Górecki and John Adams. Nearly 30 Kronos CDs are currently available.

The concert will feature music ranging from as far back as the ninth century. Among the early composers represented will be Kassia, Perotin, Guillaume de Machaut, and Hildegard von Bingen.

Modern works by some of today's most prominent composers, including Arvo Pärt, John Cage, Alfred Schnittke, Terry Riley, Osvaldo Golijov, Eric Salzman and Harry Partch also will be performed.

The Kronos Quartet consists of violinists David Harrington and John Sherba, violist Hank Dutt, and cellist Joan Jeanrenaud.

General admission tickets are $12. Students, Baylor faculty and staff and senior citizens will be admitted for $8. For more information, call the Baylor School of Music at 710-3991.

The final concert in the 1998-99 Distinguished Artist Series scheduled for March 18 will present The Tallis Scholars.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?