1998 Herbert H. Reynolds Award to Be Presented Nov. 7

Oct. 29, 1998

The Herbert H. Reynolds Award will be presented during Baylor University's Homecoming pregame activities at 1 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 7, at Floyd Casey Stadium.

The awards will be presented by vice president emeritus of university development, Robert Feather, Chancellor Herbert H. Reynolds and Dr. Maxine Hart, member of the Herbert H. Reynolds Award committee. George C. Anson, Linda C. Gregory, Dr. John S. Belew, Emily G. Tinsley, and Dr. A. A. Hyden will receive the award.

The award, named for the former president of Baylor, was established by the class of 1981, in honor of those individuals who have given to the heritage and tradition of Baylor through dedication and service to the university.

Anson, a regent emeritus from Dallas, has a private law practice. He graduated cum laude from the Baylor School of Law in 1950. In 1990 he received the W. R. White Meritorious Service Award from the Baylor Alumni Association.

Tinsley of Houston graduated from Baylor with a bachelor of arts degree in English, education, and art in 1962. She is the founding president of the Baylor University Women's Association of Houston and the 1994 W. R. White Meritorious Service Award winner. Tinsley currently serves on the board of trustees of the Institute of Religion.

Hyden of Groesbeck was Baylor's first personnel director, and in 1972 he organized the academic advisement department. He also served as vice president of student affairs. He retired after 22 years with Baylor in 1990.

Belew of Waco graduated from Baylor in 1941 with bachelor of science degree. In 1956 he returned to Baylor as an assistant professor of chemistry . He was later elected as the dean of the College Arts and Sciences. Belew is former vice president and provost. In 1991 he became the Jo Murphy Chairholder in International Education.

Linda C. Gregory is the widow of former regent Milton Gregory. He was a generous donor to the university and for his efforts Mrs. Gregory received the President's Medallion.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?