Sloan Elected Treasurer of Big 12 Board of Directors

July 2, 1998

by Larry D. Brumley

Baylor University President Robert B. Sloan Jr. was recently elected treasurer of the Big 12 Conference Board of Directors, which is composed of the chief executive officers of the conference's member institutions.

Sloan, who recently began his fourth year as Baylor's president, will serve on the executive committee with chairman of the board Robert Hemenway, who is chancellor of the University of Kansas, and vice chairman James Moeser, the University of Nebraska's chancellor. The executive committee is currently screening search firms to assist in the selection of the conference's new commissioner.

By virtue of his position as treasurer, Sloan will also serve as chair of the board's audit committee.

Baylor Athletic Director Tom Stanton has also been involved in conference leadership. He recently completed a one-year term as chair of the Big 12 board of athletic directors and currently serves on the board's long-range planning committee, the championships and awards committee, the marketing and promotions committee, and the television committee.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?