Jazz Ensemble Features Faculty Saxophonist

Feb. 8, 2005

by Richard Veit

Professor of Saxophone Michael Jacobson will be the guest artist on the next concert by the Baylor University Jazz Ensemble at 7:30 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 17, in Jones Concert Hall in the Glennis McCrary Music Building. The 21-member Jazz Ensemble performs under the direction of Alex Parker, continuing lecturer in jazz studies.

Two pieces by legendary trumpeter, composer and vocalist Louis Armstrong will be open the program--his Potato Head Blues and Hotter Than That. Then the ensemble will play Billy Strayhorn's Take the "A" Train, Frank Foster's Shiny Stockings, and All of Me by Seymour Simon and Gerald Marks.

Following intermission, Jacobson will be the featured soloist in Dizzy Gillespie's Be-Bop. Prior to joining the Baylor music faculty in 1984, Jacobson toured or performed with entertainers such as Bill Cosby, Lou Rawls, Sammy Davis, Jr. and The Fifth Dimension, among many others.

Next, the Jazz Ensemble will present Don Menza's Dizzyland, Thelonious Monk's Round Midnight and 1010-4282 by the ensemble's pianist, Esteban -lvarez.

The program will close with Inner View by Tom Davis, Maria Schneider's Dance, You Monster, to My Soft Song and Doodle Oodle by Billy Byers.

The recital is free and open to the public. For more information, call the Baylor School of Music at (254) 710-3991.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?