Dean's Honor Concert Set For Feb. 19

Feb. 10, 2005

by Richard Veit

Of the nearly 400 students in the Baylor University School of Music, 13 of the most talented have been selected by the music faculty to perform on stage at the 2005 Dean's Honor Concert. This concert, one of the most eagerly anticipated events on the School of Music's annual calendar, will be presented on Saturday, February 19, beginning at 7:30 p.m. in Jones Concert Hall, which is located within the Glennis McCrary Music Building.

Violinists Fabián López and Daniel Colston, violist Sherri Fleshner, and cellist Lena Timmons--known collectively as the Ursa String Quartet--will open the program with the third movement from Dmitri Shostakovich's String Quartet no. 3 in F major, Op. 73.

Next, baritone John Boehr will sing Wolfram's famous Ode to the Evening Star ("O! du mein holder Abendstern") from Act III of Richard Wagner's Tannhäuser. Marimbist Adam Ginsburg will follow with Paul Lansky's Three Moves, pianist Mikiko Sakamoto will play two Études by Frédéric Chopin, and oboist Euridice -lvarez will perform the Concertino, Op. 110, of Johann Wenzeslaus Kalliwoda.

After intermission, trumpeter Thomas Madeja will play Vincent Persichetti's Parable for Solo Trumpet, cellist Jeremy Shih will present the third movement from Camille Saint-Saëns's Cello Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 33, and baritone Sean McCarther will sing two songs from Maurice Ravel's set Don Quichotte à Dulcinée.

Closing the program will be a performance by trombonist Amanda Wenglar of Arthur Pryor's Fantastic Polka and then the final movement from Louis Vierne's Symphony No. 2, Op. 20, as played by organist Monica Harper.

The Dean's Honor Concert is free and open to the public. For more information, call the Baylor School of Music at (254) 710-3991.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?