Sloan to Receive Community Builder Award From Masonic Lodge

May 20, 1998

by Larry D. Brumley

Baylor Masonic Lodge No. 1235 AF&AM will present its Community Builder Award to Baylor University President Robert B. Sloan Jr. at noon Saturday at the Lee Lockwood Scottish Rite Library, 2801 W. Waco Drive.

The Community Builder Award, which is given to non-Masons who demonstrate values that build communities, has never been awarded by the Baylor Lodge in its more than 60-year history. Among the lodge's past members are former Baylor presidents Pat Neff, W.R. White and Abner McCall, as well as a number of other prominent figures in the university's history.

Sloan became the 12th president of Baylor University on June 1, 1995, after serving for two years as founding dean of Baylor's George W. Truett Theological Seminary. He joined the faculty of Baylor's religion department in 1983 after holding teaching positions at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary in Fort Worth and at Hardin-Simmons University in Abilene. In 1990 he became the first holder of the George W. Truett Chair in Evangelism at Baylor, and in 1993 he was appointed dean of Truett Seminary. Baylor regents in February 1995 named Sloan to succeed Dr. Herbert H. Reynolds as president of the University.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?