Baylor University Faculty Members Selected to Serve as 2020-2021 Baylor Fellows

Ten Baylor University faculty members have been selected as 2020-2021 Baylor Fellows for their excellence in teaching and desire to inspire innovative teaching.
Sept. 17, 2020

Media Contact: Terry Goodrich, Baylor University Media and Public Relations, 254-710-1964
Follow us on Twitter: @BaylorUMedia

by Cerenity Austin, student news writer, Baylor University Media and Public Relations

WACO, Texas (Sept. 17, 2020) — Ten Baylor University faculty members have been selected as 2020-2021 Baylor Fellows for their excellence in teaching and desire to inspire innovative teaching.

The 2020-2021 Baylor Fellows are:

Holly Collins, Ph.D., associate professor, French, College of Arts & Sciences.

Jon Eckert, Ed.D., professor and Copple Chair in Christian School Leadership, educational leadership, School of Education.

Gina Green, Ph.D., associate professor, information systems, Hankamer School of Business.

Monique Ingalls, Ph.D., associate professor, academic studies, School of Music, and director of church music graduate program.

N. Bradley Keele, Ph.D., associate professor, psychology & neuroscience, College of Arts & Sciences.

Nicole McAninch, Ph.D., clinical associate professor and Child and Family Studies Division Leader, family & consumer studies, Robbins College of Health & Human Sciences.

Marius Mitrea, Ph.D., professor, mathematics, College of Arts & Sciences.

Lyn Prater, Ph.D., clinical professor, nursing, Louise Herrington School of Nursing and Senior Fellow.

Sarah Walden, Ph.D., associate professor of rhetoric and assistant director of University Scholars, Baylor Interdisciplinary Core, University Scholars.

Joel Weaver, Ph.D., senior lecturer, Christian scriptures, George W. Truett Theological Seminary.

Baylor’s Academy for Teaching and Learning (ATL) began the Fellowship program in 2011, which recognizes outstanding teachers across the disciplines and provides them the opportunity to implement new teaching approaches. Selected faculty members receive an award of $1,845 in honor of the year of Baylor’s founding and the title of “Baylor Fellow.” This year’s theme is “Teaching and Learning with Technology.”

“Recognizing these gifted teachers is one more way that we extend Baylor’s now 175-year-old commitment to high-quality, transformational teaching,” said Provost Nancy Brickhouse, Ph.D. “This year’s theme of ‘Teaching and Learning with Technology’ is more relevant than ever, not just because of the COVID-19 pandemic, but also because of the myriad ways that technology is impacting our world each day. I am grateful to the ATL and to these 10 Fellows for the work they will do this academic year, work that will have a direct and powerful impact on our students.”

Baylor Fellows are free to choose how to implement the theme in their teaching. The Fellows undertake a process of study and planning related to the theme and each Fellow identifies one course as an “incubator” or “lab” classroom, developing the course in ways that address the theme. The Fellows also develop means to assess their projects, report to the group in monthly meetings and perform partnered classroom teaching observations.

“The annual selection of 10 Baylor Fellows is a powerful sign of the University’s continued commitment to transformational teaching,” said Lenore Wright, Ph.D., ATL director and associate professor in the Baylor Interdisciplinary Core of the Honors College. “The Fellowship honors faculty members for outstanding instruction and facilitates experimentation with teaching and student engagement. Individual projects, group presentations and peer teaching observations will guide this year’s exploration of technology-enhanced teaching and learning.”

All full-time faculty members, regardless of rank, are eligible to serve as Baylor Fellows. Nominations are solicited from the deans of the 12 colleges and schools, from former Baylor Fellows and from the ATL’s advisory council. The nominations are presented to the provost’s office for selection.


Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked research institution. The University provides a vibrant campus community for more than 18,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating University in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 90 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 12 nationally recognized academic divisions.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?