Baylor Team Receives Awards At Model Organization Of American States Tournament

News Photo 2360
Nov. 12, 2004

by Julie Campbell Carlson

Baylor University's Model Organization of American States (MOAS) team won awards in all committees and the General Assembly at a MOAS simulation held Nov. 4-7 at St. Mary's University in San Antonio.

Sponsored by the World Affairs Council of San Antonio, the tournament featured 20 universities, including five from Mexico, representing countries in the Organization of American States (OAS). Students worked on various issues of concern, such as Free Trade, hemispheric security, development and the post-Castro transition in Cuba. At this year's model, Baylor students represented the countries of Colombia and Panama.

Head delegates Chase Browning, a senior international studies major from Colleyville, and Luis Vivaldi, a senior international studies and history major from Carthage, won Outstanding Delegates in their committees. Other outstanding delegate awards went to co-head delegate Lisette Vitta, a senior international studies major from The Woodlands, and Browning, who was named Outstanding Delegate in the General Assembly. Distinguished delegate awards went to Natalie Bates, a junior French and Spanish major from San Antonio, and Krista Glova, a senior linguistics major from Kingwood.

Additionally, Baylor junior Laura Samudio, an international studies major from Austin, was elected President for the 2005 model. Ray Lopez, a senior Latin American studies and political science major from San Antonio, and Leah Davis, a graduate business major from Waco, served as committee chairs.

Other team members included Cameron Boone, a senior history major from Houston; Ricardo Carrillo, a senior political science major from Amarillo; Patrick Cuff, a junior history major from Crawford; Stephanie Hagglund, a senior international studies major from Southlake; Caleb Jones, a senior international studies major from Albuquerque, N.M.; and Genevieve Miller, a senior Latin American studies major from Englewood, Colo.

Also competing on the Baylor team were Ryan Miller, a senior history major from Center; Tony Samp, a junior international studies major from San Marcos; Robert Slater, a junior business major from Austin; and Leticia Silva, a sophomore real estate and economics major from Houston. Dr. Joan E. Supplee, associate professor of history, serves as director of the MOAS program at Baylor.

For more information, contact Supplee 710-6294 or email .

Looking for more news from Baylor University?