Rudd Named President-Elect of Texas Psychological Association

Nov. 9, 2004
News Photo 2354Dr. David Rudd, professor and chair of the department of psychology and neuroscience

by Judy Long

Dr. David Rudd, professor and department chair of psychology and neuroscience at Baylor University, has been named president-elect of the Texas Psychological Association. He will serve as president-elect in 2005-2006 and as president in 2006-2007.

Rudd graduated cum laude from Princeton University with a bachelor's degree in psychology and earned his master's degree and doctorate from the University of Texas. He was awarded a postdoctoral fellowship to study cognitive therapy at the Beck Institute in Philadelphia from 1994-96.

He currently serves as president of the American Association of Suicidology and chair of the Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists, and he served as chief of the psychotherapy section at Scott and White Hospital in Temple from 1993-99. He is a Distinguished Visiting Professor at San Antonio's Wilford Hall Medical Center, the Air Force's largest clinical psychology internship program, and was named as a fellow at the Stanford Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences.

Rudd's book, Treating Suicidal Behavior, published in 2001, gained worldwide attention as a resource for health professionals dealing with suicide issues. The author of numerous journal articles and book chapters, he also serves on the editorial boards of the Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy, International Journal of Occupational and Mental Health and Suicide and Life Threatening Behavior.

He is a member of the American Psychological Association, American Psychological Society, American Association for Behavior Therapy and the International Association of Cognitive Therapy. He has been appointed to the National Advisory Committee of the Suicide Research Center at the Las Vegas School of Medicine and as a scientific associate with the Texas/World Health Organization Collaborating Center, which conducts cross-cultural research and training in mental health and psychological factors in health.

Other honors include the 1998 Texas Psychological Association Award for outstanding scientific contribution, the 1999 Edwin Shneidman Award for early career contribution in suicidology and the 2001 Aleteia Award from the Aleteia International School of Cognitive Therapy in Enna, Italy. He is a fellow of the American Academy of Behavioral Psychology and a founding fellow of the Academy of Cognitive Therapy.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?