Baylor to Host Texas Undergraduate Moot Court Contest

Feb. 20, 1998

by Alan Hunt

Students from universities across the Lone Star State will compete in the third annual Texas Undergraduate Moot Court Competition at Baylor Law School Friday and Saturday, Feb. 27-28.

This is the third consecutive year that Baylor Law School has hosted the competition, which is sponsored by the Texas Undergraduate Moot Court Association.

More than 30 teams will compete from Texas A&M University, Hardin Simmons University, the University of Texas at Austin, Arlington and Tyler, Stephen F. Austin University, Prairie View A&M University, Texas Wesleyan University, Sul Ross University, Midwestern University, Lamar University, and Howard Payne University.

The two-day competition will feature two rounds on Friday with quarter-finals, semi-finals and the final round on Saturday. Barristers of the Harvey M. Richey Moot Court Society of Baylor Law School -- law students who have excelled in the intra-school and interscholastic moot court competitions -- will perform the preliminary judging. The final rounds of the contest will be judged by Brad Toben, dean of the law school, and members of the law school faculty.

For more information, contact Professor Ron Beal, faculty advisor to the Moot Court Officers, at 710-3611.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?