Herbert H. Reynolds Award Recipients to be Honored Nov. 1

Oct. 27, 1997

Harry and Anna Jeanes, Ann Miller and Frank Fallon, all from Waco, Gus and Bonnie Glasscock of Columbus and Dr. Mary Lou Nowotny of Dallas will receive the Herbert H. Reynolds Award during Baylor University's Homecoming activities Saturday, Nov. 1.

Named for the former president of Baylor, the Herbert H. Reynolds Award was established by the Class of 1981 to honor individuals who have distinguished themselves by their service and dedication to students at Baylor. Dr. Reynolds will be joined by Dr. Ray Wilson, chair of the Herbert H. Reynolds Award Committee and professor of biology, in presenting the awards during pre-game activities of the 1 p.m. Homecoming football game between Baylor and the University of Texas at Floyd Casey Stadium.

J. Harry Jeanes earned a bachelor of business administration degree from Baylor in 1934. He served 18 years as a Baylor trustee and was elected regent emeritus in January 1990. He also served as chairman of the Baylor board for two years and as vice chairman for two years. He has served as president of the Waco Rotary Club, Waco Junior Chamber of Commerce, Waco Symphony Association, Texas Savings and Loan League, Waco Boys' Club Board, Baylor Bear Club, Baylor Business Alumni and is a recipient of the W.R. White Meritorious Service Award.

Jeanes is married to the former Anna Sturgis, also a 1934 Baylor graduate.

Ann Miller began teaching English at Baylor and later she was appointed as a professor of English. She was named as one of Baylor's first 'master' teachers. She has published several poems in "Seinan Literary Journal," "English in Texas" and "Descant." She is known at Baylor for her love for literature and enthusiastic lectures on specific novels.

Miller is a graduate of Baylor and returned for her master's degree. Her husband, the late Robert Thomas Miller, served for many years as the chairman of the Political Science Department. Their two children, Robert Thomas Miller, Jr. of Bedford, Texas, and Laurie Anne Miller Smith of Fresno, Calif., both graduated from Baylor.

Frank Fallon is a veteran broadcaster and was the voice of Baylor University Athletics for 42 years. He was considered the "dean of Southwest Conference radio announcers" and "The Voice of the Final Four" for his work as public address announcer during the annual NCAA basketball championships.

He joined Baylor's staff in 1981 as an instructor in the Department of Communication Studies and the general manager of KWBU, the campus radio station. In 1983 he became the Athletics Department's coordinator of broadcast activities.

He and his wife, June, are the parents of four sons and four grandchildren.

Charles Gus Glasscock, Jr. is a 1938 Baylor graduate. He was an organizer and vice-president of the C.G. Glasscock Drilling Company and the Glasscock Tidelands Oil Company. He organized and served as president of Great Basins Petroleum Corporation. He also served as president and chairman of the board of Bell Western Corporation from 1969 to 1974 and as president of Compania Minera Bell Western of Honduras, Central America.

He has served as trustee to the University of Corpus Christi, Houston Baptist University and Baylor University. The Glasscock building, which houses Baylor's Institute of Environmental Studies, was dedicated and named after the Glasscocks.

Glasscock and his wife, Bonnie, are the parents of four children.

Mary L. Nowotny is emeritus professor of Nursing. She is a graduate of Texas Woman's University where she earned a bachelor of science degree and her doctorate in Nursing. She earned a master's degree from the University of California in San Francisco. She held positions as staff nurse, instructor, and assistant professor before coming to Baylor in 1981. Nowotny is a part of the Texas Nurses Association, American Nurses Assoc., Sigma Theta Tau, Oncology Nurses Society and Oncology Interest Group.

She also published two books about nursing. She is married to Lionel J. Nowotny. They have two daughters.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?