Alumni Association to Honor Outstanding Young Alumni Oct. 31

Oct. 24, 1997

Five outstanding young alumni of Baylor University will be recognized Friday, Oct. 31, by the Baylor Alumni Association for their "outstanding contributions to their profession, business, or life work" and for bringing honor to their alma mater and fellow alumni.

The young alumni will be honored during Pigskin Revue at 7 p.m. in Waco Hall. Those honored will be Kevin Cherry, John Lee Hancock, Dr. Elaine Hardwick Lambert, J. Brian McCall and Dr. Ricardo E. Rodriguez.

Cherry, a 1979 graduate, received his law degree from Baylor in 1982. He is currently the president and sole shareholder of a Dallas law firm which specializes in real estate, corporate and general business. In addition, he has served as president and director of the Dallas Baylor Bear Club and is the permanent Senior Class President for the Baylor graduating class of 1979.

Hancock is also a 1979 graduate who received his juris doctor from the Baylor Law School in 1982. He is a movie screenwriter in Los Angeles and is currently working on several new scripts for Steven Spielberg. In addition, he has written three scripts for Warner Bros., one of which is slated for production this fall. Among his credits are A Perfect World and Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil.

Lambert, a 1979 graduate, is a rheumatologist at the Sports Orthopedic and Rehabilitation Center in Menlo Park, Calif. Previously, she was a clinical associate professor of medicine in the Division of Immunology and Rheumatology at Stanford University Medical Center and continues to supervise those attending Stanford. In addition, she is a member of Phi Beta Kappa.

McCall, a 1981 graduate, has served on the Texas House of Representatives since 1991. Currently, he is a member of the State Affairs and Calendars Committees and is vice chair of the State Recreational Resources Committee. He also is president and chief executive officer of The McCall Agency in Plano.

Rodriguez graduated in 1982 and is an associate professor and chair of the chemistry department at Texas Wesleyan University. He is a popular and widely published speaker and is well-known for introducing science to young people through his Chemistry Camp for Kids.

For additional information about Baylor Homecoming, visit the Homecoming web site at

Looking for more news from Baylor University?