President Livingstone Announces Provost Search Committee Members

Pat Neff Hall
Jan. 17, 2018

Media Contact: Lori Fogleman, 254-710-6275
Follow Lori on Twitter at @LoriBaylorU
Follow Baylor Media Communications on Twitter: @BaylorUMedia

WACO, Texas (Jan. 17, 2018) – Baylor University President Linda A. Livingstone, Ph.D., has announced the members of the Baylor Provost Search Committee.

Co-chaired by Charles Weaver, Ph.D., chair of psychology and neuroscience in the College of Arts and Sciences, and Cindy Riemenschneider, Ph.D. professor of information systems and associate dean in the Hankamer School of Business, the 23-member search committee includes faculty representatives from each College/School, two members of the Faculty Senate, two staff representatives, one undergraduate and one graduate student. The committee is as follows:

  • Cindy Riemenschneider, Ph.D., Hankamer School of Business – Information Systems, Associate Dean (committee co-chair)
  • Charles Weaver, Ph.D., College of Arts and Sciences – Psychology and Neuroscience, Department Chair (committee co-chair)
  • Robyn Driskell, Ph.D., Office of the President, Vice President and Chief of Staff (liaison and coordinator)
  • William H. Bellinger, Ph.D., College of Arts and Sciences – Religion, Department Chair
  • DeAnna Toten Beard, Ph.D., College of Arts and Sciences – Theatre, Associate Professor and Associate Chair
  • Brooke Blevins, Ph.D., School of Education, Associate Professor and Associate Chair
  • Rodney Bowden, Ph.D., Robbins College of Health and Human Sciences, Dean
  • Amye Dickerson, Student Body President, Undergraduate Students
  • Ellen Hampton Filgo, M.S.L.S., University Libraries, Assistant Director
  • Carie Ford, Ph.D., Hankamer School of Business – Accounting, Clinical Professor
  • Ian Gravagne, Ph.D., School of Engineering and Computer Science, Associate Professor
  • Helen Harris, Ed.D., Diana R. Garland School of Social Work, Associate Professor
  • Laura Hernandez, J.D., Baylor Law School, Professor
  • Dominique Hill, M.S., Division of Student Life, Assistant Director (staff)
  • Mitchell Neubert, Ph.D., Hankamer School of Business – Management, Professor
  • Brian Raines, Ph.D., College of Arts and Sciences – Mathematics, Professor and Associate Dean (Faculty Senate)
  • Rich Sanker, Ph.D., Pre-Health Programs, Director (staff)
  • Dwayne Simmons, Ph.D., College of Arts and Sciences – Biology, Department Chair
  • Lori Spies, Ph.D., Louise Herrington School of Nursing, Assistant Professor
  • Jeff Strietzel, M.A., Graduate Student Association President, Graduate Students
  • Dennis Tucker, Ph.D., George W. Truett Theological Seminary, Professor
  • Randall Umstead, D.M.A., School of Music, Associate Professor and Associate Dean (Faculty Senate)
  • Lenore Wright, Ph.D., Honors College, Associate Professor and Director of the Academy for Teaching and Learning

Broc Edwards will serve the committee as a liaison to the Division of Human Resources.

“The Provost’s Search Committee is charged with identifying candidates to serve as the University’s permanent academic leader who will guide Baylor in our quest to become a ‘tier one’ Christian research university,” President Livingstone said. “I extend my deepest appreciation for these individuals agreeing to participate on the search committee and for their important work and dedication over the next several months.”

The search committee met for the first time via teleconference Jan. 16, with the goal of identifying candidates as University’s permanent provost by the end of the spring semester. They will assess potential candidates based on their academic credentials, demonstrated leadership and commitment to Baylor’s unwavering Christian mission. The committee will solicit candidate names from both internal and external sources and review a broad and diverse pool of candidates.

Periodic updates on the committee’s progress will be posted on the provost search website at Nominations also can be submitted through the website.


Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked research institution. The University provides a vibrant campus community for more than 17,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating University in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 80 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 12 nationally recognized academic divisions.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?