Baylor Music Faculty Members Receive Awards

Aug. 18, 1997

The dean of the School of Music at Baylor University and a former faculty member now deceased have been named recipients of awards given by the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP).

Dr. Marvin Lamb, dean and professor of the School of Music, and the late Dr. Richard M. Willis, the retired Mable and L.N. Yeager Distinguished Professor of Music and Composer-In-Residence, were recognized for their compositions and contributions to serious music during the past year.

The ASCAP awards are granted by an independent panel and are based on the prestige value of each writer's catalog of original compositions as well as recent performances of the works.

Lamb joined Baylor's faculty in 1989 and has received the ASCAP award for 20 consecutive years.

Willis began teaching at Baylor in 1964 and retired in May of 1996. He died July 25 of this year at the age of 68 following a lengthy illness. He received the ASCAP award annually for 28 years.

For more information, contact the Baylor School of Music at 710-1161.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?