Baylor Law School Grads to Receive Degrees Aug. 2

July 29, 1997

by Alan Hunt

Fifty-seven graduates of Baylor University School of Law are scheduled to receive juris doctor degrees during commencement ceremonies at 10 a.m. Saturday, Aug. 2, in Waco Hall.

Keynote speaker will be Matt Dawson, a Baylor law professor emeritus, who was selected by the graduating class to deliver the commencement address. Dawson was a recipient last year of the Texas Bar Foundation's Outstanding Fifty Year Lawyer Award. The award is given to a member of the State Bar who represents the highest principles of the profession.

A 1938 graduate of Baylor Law School, he was the youngest judge in Texas when elected County Judge of Gregg County in 1942. He later returned to Baylor Law School to direct the school's nationally known advocacy program. Still very active in the practice of law, he is a legend among Texas lawyers.

Named Baylor Lawyer of the Year in 1987, Dawson served as president of the Baylor Law Alumni Association in 1959.

Diplomas will be presented during the program by Law Dean Brad Toben, who serves as the Gov. Bill and Vara Faye Daniel Professor of Law. The honor of hooding the graduates will go to David M. Guinn, who serves as the Louise L. Morrison Professor of Constitutional Law and Master Teacher, and Brian J. Serr, professor of law. The invocation will be given by Marianne Auld, associate professor of law.

After the ceremony, a reception for the graduates and their guests will be hosted by the Baylor Law Alumni Association in the Barfield Drawing Room of the Bill Daniel Student Center.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?