Sheri Mooney Award to Be Presented April 30

April 29, 1997

The Rev. Neal Jeffrey, associate pastor of Prestonwood Baptist Church in Dallas, will be the keynote speaker at an annual ceremony in which the Sheri Mooney Memorial Award will be presented during Baylor University's Chapel-Forum at 10 a.m., Wednesday in Waco Hall.

The Sheri Mooney Memorial Award will be presented to two students who were selected by an award committee for demonstrating a consistent Christian witness among their peers in ways that could be described as "non-repelling" or not "counter-productive." The award is presented at a memorial forum each spring and consists of an educational grant of $700 for each student.

The award is funded by Mr. and Mrs. Bruce Mooney of Irving and Mrs. Tina Mooney Koemel of Fort Worth in memory of Baylor graduate Sheri Mooney who was killed in an automobile accident shortly after graduation while on a mission to encourage lifestyle evangelism.

The recipients of this year's Mooney award are Joseph F. Ader, a sophomore religion and political science major from El Toro, Calif., and Leslie J. Benson, a sophomore accounting major from Amarillo, Texas.

Dr. Gwin Morris, associate vice president for development, will welcome students to the Sheri Mooney Memorial Chapel Forum. William J. Dube, III, director of endowed scholarships, will give the invocation and Phil Lakin, regional director of development, will present the scholarship to Ader and Benson.

For more information, call 755-3517.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?