Baylor to Honor Retired Faculty, Staff With Awards on May 3

April 23, 1997

The Baylor University Alumni Association and the Retired Professors Center will honor four retired faculty members and one retired staff member at the annual retired faculty and staff awards luncheon at noon Saturday, May 3, on the fifth floor of the Cashion Academic Center in the Hankamer School of Business.

The awards are presented annually to recipients in recognition of their scholarship, devotion and service to Baylor. President Robert B. Sloan Jr. will present the awards.

Recipients of the Retired Faculty Award include Dr. John S. Belew, emeritus provost and professor of chemistry (1956-1991); Ruth M. Belew, lecturer in theater arts (1967-1992); Chris Burckhardt, associate professor of German (1965-1996); and Robert H. Young, emeritus professor of music (1962-1993). The Retired Staff Award will be presented to Donna M. Denton, vice president of financial affairs (1972-1986) and assistant vice president for fiscal analysis (1989-1994).

Sloan also will recognize and present plaques to the Baylor 1997 retirees. Faculty members who are retiring include Dr. Julian F. Watkins II, professor of biology; Dr. Robert G. Collmer, distinguished professor of English; Dr. Alta N. Lane, professor of family and consumer sciences; Dr. William G. Brown, professor of geology; Dr. L. Gerald Fielder, professor of political science; Dr. James Breckenridge, professor of religion; Dr. Ann W. Karaffa, professor of curriculum and instruction; Olga E. Fallon, assistant professor of health, human performance and recreation; Dr. Mary L. Nowotny, professor and associate dean of the School of Nursing; and Patricia Howard, lecturer in English.

For more information, contact Dr. W J Wimpee, director of the Retired Professor's Center, at 755-3516

Looking for more news from Baylor University?