Annual Dean's Honor Concert Will Feature Top Student Performers

Morpheme Saxophone Quartet
Morpheme Saxophone Quartet courtesy photo.
March 18, 2016

Follow us on Twitter:@BaylorUMedia

Contact: Terry Goodrich, (254) 710-3321

WACO, Texas (March 18, 2016) – Baylor University's School of Music will present the 2016 Dean’s Honor Concert at 7:30 p.m. Monday, March 21, in Roxy Grove Hall.

The annual concert showcases some of the most talented student musicians in the School of Music.

The following students will be performing:

• Tenor Zachary Barba will open the program, singing "Tuo drudo è mio rivale" from George Frideric Handel’s 1719 opera Rodelinda, with pianist Jeffrey Arnold.

• Duo pianists Haley Bartell and Carl Feaster will play Polish composer Witold Lutoslawski’s Variations on a Theme by Paganini for two pianos, a wartime work from 1941.

• Adrienne Steely will appear in the roles of composer and cellist in a performance of her own, Green311.13. It is scored for unaccompanied cello.

• The Baylor Percussion Group, consisting of students Taylor Davis, Ricky Bracamontes, Daniel Strange and James Ferris, will play Third Construction, composed by John Cage in 1941. The four are members of Todd Meehan’s Baylor percussion studio.

• William Henry will be the soloist, along with pianist Cameron Hofmann, in the third movement ("James Brown in The Twilight Zone") from Chris Brubeck’s Concerto for Bass Trombone and Orchestra from 2003.

• Baritone Scott Clark will sing "Hai già vinta la causa!" from Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s 1786 opera Le Nozze di Figaro. His collaborative pianist will be Stephen Morris.

• Joseph Duque will play Eugène Ysaye’s Sonata in D minor, Op. 27, No. 3. Known as "Ballade," this single-movement work was written in 1923 and dedicated to Georges Enescu.

• The Morpheme Saxophone Quartet – Spencer Sosnowski, Patrick Lenz, Mollie McInnis and Mitchell Brackett – will close the program with two movements, "Sarajevo" and "Addis Ababa," from the 2011 collection Ciudades by Guillermo Lago.

The concert is free and open to the public. For more information, call the Baylor University School of Music at 254-710-3991.

Roxy Grove Hall is located inside Waco Hall at 624 Speight Ave., Waco, TX 76706.

by Jenna Press, student newswriter, (254) 710-6805


Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked research institution. The University provides a vibrant campus community for more than 16,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating University in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 80 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 12 nationally recognized academic divisions.


The Baylor University School of Music provides transformational experiences that prepare students for careers in music. Our students thrive in a Christian environment characterized by a nurturing resident faculty, an unwavering pursuit of musical excellence, a global perspective, dedication to service, and devotion to faith. They investigate the rich musical and cultural heritage of the past, develop superior musical skills and knowledge in the present, and explore and create new modes of musical expression for the future. While preparing for future leadership roles, the students join with School of Music faculty in enhancing the quality of community life, enriching the larger culture, and making Baylor a place in which heart, mind and soul coalesce. The School of Music of Baylor University is a member of the National Association of Schools of Music and the Texas Association of Music Schools. Degree programs leading to the bachelor of music education degree conform to certification requirements of the Texas Education Agency.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?