Baylor to Present Annual Service Awards Feb. 10

Feb. 7, 1997

Baylor University will hold its annual service awards ceremony to recognize outstanding employees at 3:30 p.m. Monday, Feb. 10, in the Barfield Drawing Room of the Bill Daniel Student Center.

This year approximately 340 employees will be recognized for service to the university. The awards will be presented to faculty and staff members by President Robert B. Sloan Jr.

Employees will be recognized for giving 3, 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40 and 45 years of service to Baylor. Recognized for 40 years of service to Baylor will be Dr. Robert Packard, professor of physics and Master Teacher; Olga Fallen, assistant professor of health, human performance and recreation; and John Belew, provost emeritus and emeritus professor of chemistry. Johnny Johnson, equipment room and gym attendant for the Department of Health, Human Performance and Recreation, will be honored for 45 years of service.

Diamond studded brooches and tie tacks will be presented to women and men who have been employed by Baylor at least five years. The diamonds represent the years of service to Baylor.

Six non-faculty employees will be recognized for outstanding service in the categories of executive, administrative and management; professional; office/clerical; and technical/skilled crafts. The Outstanding Staff Award recipients will be announced at the ceremony.

A $1,000 cash award will be given to each outstanding employee.

The service awards ceremony has been a tradition at Baylor since 1972.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?