39 Baylor Law Students to Graduate Feb. 8

Jan. 30, 1997

by Alan Hunt

Thirty-nine graduates of the Baylor University School of Law are scheduled to receive juris doctor degrees during commencement ceremonies at 10 a.m. Saturday, Feb. 8, in Miller Chapel at the Tidwell Bible Building.

Keynote speaker will be Justice Raul A. Gonzalez of the Texas Supreme Court. A native of Weslaco, Texas, he is a 1966 graduate of the University of Houston Law School and received a master of laws degree from the University of Virginia Law School. He has served on the Texas Supreme Court since October 1984.

Diplomas will be presented by Brad Toben, law school dean and the Governor Bill and Vara Faye Daniel Professor of Law, assisted by Leah W. Jackson, associate dean and associate professor of law.

The invocation will be given by Melissa A. Essary, professor of law, and hooding the graduates will be David M. Guinn, who serves as the Louise L. Morrison Professor of Constitutional Law and Master Teacher, and Gerald R. Powell, the Abner V. McCall Professor of Evidence.

After the ceremony, a reception for the graduates and their guests will be hosted by the Baylor Law Alumni Association in the Barfield Drawing Room at the Bill Daniel Student Center.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?