Baylor Law School Awards 35 Juris Doctor Degrees During Summer Commencement

Aug. 13, 2014

Follow us on Twitter:@BaylorUMedia

Contact: Eric Eckert, (254) 710-1964

WACO, Texas (August 13, 2014) -- Thirty-five Baylor University Law School students were awarded their Juris Doctor degrees during the School’s summer commencement ceremonies.

David M. Guinn, J.D., Baylor Law School Master Teacher and The Lyndon L. Olson and William A. Olson Professor of Local Government and Constitutional Law, gave the keynote address in Waco Hall during the ceremony on Aug. 2.

Guinn, who was named 2013 Baylor Lawyer of the Year, attended Baylor University and majored in political science. He received his J.D. from Baylor School of Law in 1963. After receiving his J.D., Guinn was employed by the United States Securities and Exchange Commission for two years. He then attended the University of Michigan Law School where he received his LL.M. in International Law in 1966 and returned to his alma mater to teach.

Baylor University President and Chancellor Ken Starr, who also serves as Louise L. Morrison Chair of Constitutional Law, awarded the diplomas. He was assisted by Leah Jackson Teague, J.D., associate dean and professor of law, and Angela Russell Cruseturner, assistant dean of career development.

Aimee Martika Raimer, a business litigation student from Montgomery, Texas, and the highest-ranking student in the class, gave the student remarks.

Hooding the graduates were Matthew Cordon, professor of law, director of legal research and associate director of the Law Library; and Luke Meier, professor of law.


Baylor University is a private Christian university and a nationally ranked research institution, characterized as having “high research activity” by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. The university provides a vibrant campus community for approximately 15,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating university in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 80 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 11 nationally recognized academic divisions. Baylor sponsors 19 varsity athletic teams and is a founding member of the Big 12 Conference.


Established in 1857, Baylor Law School was the first law school in Texas and one of the first west of the Mississippi River. Today, the school has more than 7,000 living alumni. It is accredited by the American Bar Association and is a member of the Association of American Law Schools. Baylor Law School has a record of producing outstanding lawyers, many of whom decide upon a career in public service. The Law School boasts two governors, members or former members of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate, two former directors of the FBI, U.S. ambassadors, federal judges, justices of the Texas Supreme Court and members of the Texas Legislature, among its notable alumni. In its law specialties rankings, U.S.News & World Report ranked Baylor Law’s trial advocacy program as the fifth best in the nation. Baylor Law School is ranked No. 51 in the magazine’s 2012 edition of “America’s Best Graduate Schools.” Learn more at

Looking for more news from Baylor University?