President Appoints Provost Search Committee Members

March 20, 2014

Follow us on Twitter: @BaylorUMediaCom

Contact: Lori Fogleman, 254-710-6275

WACO, Texas (March 20, 2014)-- Baylor University President and Chancellor Ken Starr announced today the appointment of members of the University’s Provost Search Committee. The Committee is charged with leading the global search to identify the University’s next Provost.

Assisting Committee Chair Todd D. Still, Ph.D., The William H. Hinson Professor of Christian Scriptures at George W. Truett Theological Seminary, in the search for a new University Provost, are:

Lori E. Baker, Ph.D., associate professor of anthropology and chair-elect of Faculty Senate, representing Baylor faculty and Faculty Senate

Elizabeth Corey, Ph.D., associate professor of political science in the Honors Program, representing Baylor faculty

Jeremy Counseller, J.D., professor of law, representing Baylor faculty

Jaime Diaz-Granados, Ph.D., chair and professor of psychology, neuroscience and biomedical studies, representing Baylor faculty

Heidi J. Hornik, Ph.D., professor of art history, representing Baylor faculty

Thomas S. Kidd, Ph.D., professor of history, representing Baylor faculty

Terry Maness, D.B.A., dean of the Hankamer School of Business, representing the Council of Deans

Dennis L. O’Neal, Ph.D., dean of the School of Engineering and Computer Science, representing the Council of Deans

Kevin P. Jackson, Ph.D., vice president for student life, representing the administration

Marjorie Ellis, executive director of the Office of Career and Professional Development, representing the staff

Hannah Adams, University Scholar, representing students

Virginia DuPuy, executive director of the Greater Waco Educational Alliance, Ex-Officio, representing Baylor alumni and the Waco community

David H. Harper, J.D., partner, Haynes and Boone LLP, Ex-Officio, representing the Board of Regents

John Whelan, J.D., vice president for human resources, Ex-Officio, representing Human Resources

Jordan Hannah, deputy chief of staff in the Office of the President, will assist the Committee as search manager.

Over the past month, Dr. Still met with groups of faculty, staff, students, senior administrators and regents to discuss the recommended qualities and credentials of the University’s next chief academic officer and to solicit recommendations of representatives to serve on the Search Committee.

The Provost Search Committee is expected to commence its work during the first week of April.

“We are deeply grateful for these dedicated members of the Baylor community who graciously and prayerfully accepted the significant responsibility to lead the search for our next Provost,” President Starr said. “All members bring a University-wide perspective to their work, and they share a commitment to identifying an energetic and creative academic leader to help advance Baylor’s aspirations under Pro Futuris as a University with very high research activity, while reaffirming and strengthening our distinctive Christian mission. As the Committee begins its work, we ask for God's grace and wisdom as we move forward in our search for the University’s next academic leader.”

The leading executive search firm, Storbeck/Pimintel and Associates, has been chosen to assist with the search. The Committee will seek out highly qualified candidates and thoroughly assess their academic credentials, leadership potential and commitment to Baylor’s unwavering Christian mission.

Baylor’s current Provost and Executive Vice President, Elizabeth Davis, Ph.D., will become president of Furman University on July 1. Dean David E. Garland, Ph.D., professor of Christian Scriptures and holder of The Charles J. and Eleanor McLerran Delancey Chair of the Dean at Truett Seminary, will serve as Interim Provost.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?