Baylor University Celebrates Fall Commencement

Dec. 17, 2013

Follow us on Twitter: @BaylorUMediaCom

Media contact: Lori Fogleman, (254) 710-6275

WACO, Texas (Dec. 17, 2013) - Students who have fulfilled all degree requirements in their area of study will celebrate fall commencement on Saturday, Dec. 21, at Baylor University's Ferrell Center, 1900 S. University Parks Drive.

A ceremony at 9:30 a.m. will be held for graduating students from the College of Arts & Sciences and all related graduate degree programs. At 2:30 p.m., another ceremony will be held for graduating students from the Hankamer School of Business, School of Education, School of Engineering and Computer Science, School of Music, Louise Herrington School of Nursing, School of Social Work and all related graduate degree programs, including military degrees.

After the processional and greetings in both ceremonies, Baylor President and Chancellor Ken Starr will present a message to the graduates before he confers the degrees. During the conferral, he will be assisted by Elizabeth Davis, Ph.D., executive vice president and provost, and the deans of each school that has graduating students.

After the graduates receive their degrees, Tommye Lou Davis, vice president for constituent engagement at Baylor, will welcome the new alumni before the benediction and recessional.

For family and friends of the graduate who cannot be present, Baylor will begin a live stream of the commencement here 10 minutes prior to the ceremony.

For more information about commencement exercises, click here.

by Kristen Bennett, student newswriter, (254) 710-6805


Baylor University is a private Christian university and a nationally ranked research institution, characterized as having "high research activity" by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. The university provides a vibrant campus community for approximately 15,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating university in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 80 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 11 nationally recognized academic divisions. Baylor sponsors 19 varsity athletic teams and is a founding member of the Big 12 Conference.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?