Baylor's Jazz Ensembles Present Concert Oct. 7

Oct. 2, 1996

by Richard Veit

The Baylor University Jazz Ensembles will perform their first concert of the 1996-97 school year at 8 p.m. Monday, Oct. 7, in Jones Concert Hall. Both groups-Jazz Ensemble I and Jazz Ensemble II-are under the direction of Vern Sielert, lecturer in jazz studies.

The concert will open with Jazz Ensemble II presenting four pieces. Llad McIntosh's "Coyote Woman Blues" will feature soloists Tim Wall (piano), Sam Stitt (trumpet), Jeff Dietzel (tenor sax), Paul Clark (guitar), and James Peter Elkins (drums). Jeff Dietzel will also be featured along with trumpeter Cliff Horn, in Mark Taylor's arrangement of "Seven Steps to Heaven" by Miles Davis. Trumpeter Brad Black will solo on "Sara's Song" by Robert Curnow. The first segment of the concert will conclude with Chris Breyman's "Fire Shaker," with pianist Tim Wall and trumpeter Michael Knipe.

Following intermission, Jazz Ensemble I will take center stage for a half-dozen pieces. Pianist Bill Cherry will be featured in the Les Hooper arrangement of Cole Porter's "I Love You." Then Sammy Nestico's "Tall Cotton" will be played, with soloists Matt Walker (trombone), Vincent Bryce (bass), and Jeff Francis (tenor sax). Matt Walker will return as soloist for Bob Mintzer's "Papa Lips," with tenor saxophonist Eli González.

Chico O'Farrill's arrangement of the title song from the Beatles' first motion picture, "A Hard Day's Night," will feature trumpeter Vicente Cantu. "Other Seasons" by Neil Slater will present as soloists Bill Cherry (piano) and Vanessa Hasbrook (alto sax). Concluding the program will be one of director Vern Sielert's own compositions, "Stress Blues," featuring guitarist Jeff Queen and tenor saxophonists Eli González and Jeff Francis.

This concert by Baylor's Jazz Ensembles is free and open to the public. For more information, call the School of Music at 755-3991.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?