Druin, Bradfield Receive Baylor Communications Award

Sept. 5, 1996

WACO, Texas - Rick Bradfield, news director of KWTX-TV in Waco, and Toby Druin, editor of The Baptist Standard, have been named the first recipients of the Baylor Communications Award, presented today during the President's Media Luncheon at the Ferrell Center.

The Award honors individuals who have distinguished themselves in the field of communications. Criteria for the award requires that recipients must have worked a minimum of 10 years for their current employer; they have excelled in the area of communications; they have exhibited outstanding professional and personal qualities; and they have set excellent examples for others to follow who wish to enter the field of communications.

Bradfield is a 1976 graduate of Baylor and has worked at KWTX for 20 years, nine of those as news director. He has guided the station's news coverage through numerous important stories, including presidential, state and local elections, the Branch Davidian standoff and Baylor's entry into the Big 12. He currently teaches a television news writing course at Baylor.

Druin is a 1966 Baylor graduate and is celebrating his 40th year as a professional journalist, including 20 years at the Standard, the largest Baptist weekly publication in the country with a circulation of more than 200,000. Druin became editor of the publication in January. He also has worked for the Home Mission Board, the North Carolina Biblical Recorder and for newspapers in Amarillo, Borger, Wichita Falls, Plainview and Waco.

Baylor President Robert B. Sloan Jr. presented the awards to Druin and Bradfield.

For more information, call the Office of Public Relations at (817) 755-1961.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?