Baylor Honors Alumnus Dr. James S.W. Wong

June 29, 2012

Follow us on Twitter:@BaylorUMediaCom

Media Contact: Frank Raczkiewicz, (254) 710-1964

HONG KONG, China (June 29, 2012) - President Ken Starr of Baylor University (Texas, USA) has bestowed the Baylor University Distinguished Achievement Award on Hong Kong business executive and scholar, Dr. James Sai-Wing Wong. Wong graduated from Baylor in 1960 at age 20 with a degree in mathematics and physics and has had a long career in academia and business.

It is the first such award given to an alumnus in two decades.

"On behalf of Baylor University, it is my distinct pleasure to bestow this Distinguished Achievement Award, the university's highest honor, on Dr. James Wong," Starr said. "He is a prolific scholar who has also achieved extraordinary success in business and brought honor to Baylor."

Following his graduation from Baylor, Wong earned a doctorate in mathematics from California Institute of Technology (California, USA) in 1964. He soon became world renowned in the area of the qualitative theory of differential equations and has held math professorships at the University of Wisconsin, Carnegie Mellon University, University of Iowa and University of Alberta.

Today, Wong is the executive chairman of Hon Kwok Land Investment Company and two other publicly traded holding companies, Chinney Investments and Chinney Alliance Group. Through its subsidiaries, Chinney Investments engages in a wide variety of activities, including construction, garment manufacturing and trading, and property investment. Its operations extend from Hong Kong to Macau, Europe, and North America. Wong's third company, Chinney Alliance Group, is engaged in the trading of plastics, chemicals, and industrial products and equipment.

The Baylor University Distinguished Achievement Award is bestowed on Baylor degree holders who have made a distinctive contribution to their particular profession, business or vocation and in doing so have brought honor to Baylor. First presented in May 1980, 20 individuals have received the award. It has not been awarded since August 1992.


Baylor University is a private Christian university and a nationally ranked research institution, characterized as having "high research activity" by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. The university provides a vibrant campus community for approximately 15,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating university in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 80 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 11 nationally recognized academic divisions. Baylor sponsors 19 varsity athletic teams and is a founding member of the Big 12 Conference.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?