Baylor Spring Commencement Set for May 15

May 12, 1999

by Lori Scott Fogleman

Baylor University will confer degrees on approximately 1,400 graduates during spring commencement exercises Saturday, May 15, in the Ferrell Center.

The first ceremony will be at 9:30 a.m. for students in the College of Arts and Sciences and the Graduate School arts and sciences programs. The second ceremony begins at

3 p.m. for graduates of the Schools of Business, Education, Engineering and Computer Science, Music, Nursing, the Graduate School professional school programs and Truett Seminary.

Baylor President Robert B. Sloan Jr. will give the traditional charge to the students at both ceremonies, with greetings brought by W. Fred Cameron, chairman of the Baylor Board of Regents. Dr. Bill Lamkin, emeritus professor of educational psychology, will be the bearer of the mace in the morning ceremony. Dr. Clement Goode, retired professor of English, has the honor at the afternoon ceremony.

Also during the 3 p.m. ceremony, the Baylor Alumni Association will present the George W. Truett Distinguished Church Service Award to Dr. Browning Worth Ware. Ware, a Baylor alumnus, has served as pastor of six Texas Baptist churches, including more than 20 years at Austin's First Baptist Church, and has written a weekly newspaper column, "Diary of a Modern Pilgrim," for over 40 years. The Alumni Association also was scheduled to present the Price Daniel Distinguished Public Service Award during the morning ceremony to Sen. David Sibley, a Baylor alumnus and current member of the Board of Regents. Because of the continuing

legislative session in Austin, Sibley will be unable to accept the award on Saturday. He will be presented at a later date with the award, which honors those who served or are currently serving in an elected or appointed local, state or national office, and whose record in public life best exemplifies the spirit of selfless dedication to public service.

Rachel Moore, lecturer in the department of English and the recipient of the 1999 Collins Outstanding Professor Award, will also be honored during commencement.

For more information, contact Cindy Dougherty, assistant provost for academic services, at (254) 710-3663.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?