Baylor Honors Outstanding Faculty for 2017-2018

outstanding faculty 2018
May 25, 2018

Media Contact: Lori Fogleman, 254-710-6275
Follow Lori on Twitter at @LoriBaylorU
Follow Baylor Media Communications on Twitter: @BaylorUMedia

by Liesbeth Powers, student newswriter

WACO, Texas (May 25, 2018) – Eleven faculty members have been recognized as Outstanding Faculty in the areas of teaching, scholarship and contributions to the academic community for the 2017-2018 academic year. The awards recognize the best all-around professors based upon teaching capabilities, research achievement, effective committee service, time spent with students and civic and church involvement, including non-tenure track, tenured and tenure-track faculty.

Each fall, a call for nominations is sent out by the Provost’s office. Each department has its own process for gathering and selecting nominees before being sent through the Dean and selected by the Outstanding Faculty Selection Committee. This year’s committee was chaired by Carrie Arroyo, lecturer in the Diana R. Garland School of Social Work.

“Faculty are going above and beyond all the time across the university,” Arroyo said. “The award process does not ‘make’ anyone work harder, but it is nice to have your work seen by your colleagues in a new way and to know that your work matters to a broader audience.”

Arroyo feels that awards give opportunities to highlight and advertise those doing great things at Baylor, as well as give positive attention to the academic endeavors of faculty. Each academic unit gives out their awards at the end of the academic year.

Outstanding Professors for 2017-2018


David Corey
Professor, Political Science, Honors College

Jeff Donahoo
Professor, Computer Science, School of Engineering and Computer Science

Rebecca J. Flavin
Senior Lecturer, Political Science, College of Arts and Sciences

Karol Hardin
Professor, Spanish, College of Arts and Sciences

Linda J. Olafsen
Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering, School of Engineering and Computer Science

John Miller
Senior Lecturer, Electrical & Computer Engineering, School of Engineering and Computer Science

Rachelle D. Rogers
Clinical Assistant Professor, School of Education


Peter G. Klein
Professor, Entrepreneurship, Hankamer School of Business

Robin Wallace
Professor, Musicology, School of Music

Bruce Longenecker
Professor, Religion, College of Arts & Sciences

Seung Kim
Associate Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering, School of Engineering and Computer Science

Contributions to the Academic Community

John B. White
Associate Professor, Truett Seminary


Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked research institution. The University provides a vibrant campus community for more than 17,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating University in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 80 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 12 nationally recognized academic divisions.

Looking for more news from Baylor University?